A Medium Reunion

Way oh way back in October when I went to Rhinebeck, I got to talking to Kim of Indigodragonfly about yarns, designing and patterns. We were comparing the yardage of what was needed for my Reunion Cowl for her MCN Lace. We chatted about it while we were in the car before I got dropped off at the train station and hatched a wee plan. As I grabbed my things out of the trunk I grabbed* a skein of Kim’s yarn and as soon as I got back to Toronto, I got cracking.

I’ve had a lot of people saying that they love the Reunion Cowl pattern, but that the stitch count is way beyond them. I generally counter by saying that this pattern is an easy knit, it just takes a long time. However, Kim and I decided that it would be nice to have a medium size that works perfectly with one skein of a gorgeous yarn. So we made it happen. A medium Reunion Cowl was born.

A few weeks ago I met up with my friend Nick and got him to take some pictures of me wearing it for you all to see. The medium is still big enough to double around or to wear as a scarf.

Reunion

Reunion

Here’s the details. The pattern has been updated to include a medium size. Everyone who has bought one should receive an email with a link to the updated PDF. The medium size takes one 115g skein of MCN Lace or similarly weight yarn. You can download the pattern by clicking on the button below.

In celebration of the release and new partnership Kim has agreed to do a giveaway! Post a comment here (one per person) and we will pick a random person on Dec 31. The prize will be one copy of the pattern and a skein of MCN Lace in the colourway of your choice.

*With permission of course!

129 responses to “A Medium Reunion

  1. How pretty! I’m off work this week and have spent some time scrolling through your blog. I’ve enjoyed it very much!

  2. This looks like a very versatile piece, I would love to make one!

  3. Really nice, and practical. And at one skein it should be doable as a last minute gift. Which gives me ideas…

    ~ J.

  4. Pretty cowl! The sweater is also very nice.

  5. I love her colourway names!

  6. Gorgeous! I would love to have a cowl like that.

  7. I have a stack of handknits ready for Christmas Day, and have promised myself a cowl for ME next! This would be perfect!!!

  8. Really looking forward to knitting a cowl for myself. This looks like fun.

  9. I have just started oohing and aahing over every cowl I see. I appear to have been bitten by a cowl bug. Also, I really like your sweater. It’s very cute!

  10. The perfect ‘me’ gift. I love cowls & would love to win, but will stop short of embarrassing myself by saying ‘pick me! pick me!’

  11. The cowl looks great. Thanks for the chance to win the pattern!

  12. Really pretty pattern! Nice and simple.

  13. Very cool cowl – and just the perfect size!

  14. Lovely cowl…lovely yarn…do enjoy reading your blog, too! (Even if I am primarily a lurker! But an appreciative lurker!)

  15. Funny story – my husband just walked in as I was admiring your scarf, so I pointed to the first picture and said “Look! Is that pretty?” And he said “Yes! Oh wait, did you mean the scarf, or the girl?” I said “I wouldn’t have said ‘that’ if I had meant the girl!” He thought both looked very nice. πŸ™‚

    (Please take this in a totally non-creepy, complimentary way; my husband is a wonderful man who is still learning the strangeness of knitters.)

  16. So cute! Hmmm… Could I bribe you to give your Aunt a knitting refresher after Xmas?

  17. I am working on Stephanie’s cowl right now (between last minute Christmas gifts) — love the Reunion too — and REALLY love the sweater you’re wearing in the pics.

  18. Just lovely! Simple yet effective pattern, and it showcases the beautiful yarn nicely.

  19. Yes, this would truly be a fabulous present to knit for MYSELF once all of my presents are finished (no, still not finished knitting xmas presents!)

  20. you’re reunion cowl is gorgeous! love the option of three different sizes. simple, but so versatile. i’d love to make one!

  21. I love cowls and I enjoy your blog!
    Have a Merry Christmas

  22. lovely! what a nice idea to make it more accessible. hope you have a wonderful holiday season!

  23. I loveeeeeee that red color. It looks gorgeous on you!

  24. What a gorgeous cowl/infinity scarf, you can wear it so many ways! Just beautiful!

  25. Love, love, love…very wearable!

  26. i’m madly in love with cowls because i do. not. like! when scarf tails hang inside my coat. i’m not sure why, but it squicks me out. i think the medium size will make a supremely awesome cowl (and a quick knit!).

  27. This pattern shows of the yarn so beautifully! I was at Rhinebeck, too! It was my first one and it was FABULOUS!

  28. Very pretty! I’m new to knitting, been crocheting for years…so am trying to learn new skills along the way….

  29. BEAUTIFUL! I love the fact that you have designed it for using different yarns, too. Thanks!

  30. I love this pattern. I bought it awhile ago, but I have not had the chance to start it yet.

  31. I really like this pattern, and I will definitely put it on my list for purchase after the New Year.

  32. It looks like a lovely pattern and I’d love to try it.

  33. Very pretty. The cowl is the perfect one skein project.

  34. Very lovely cowl and just MY color. Gorgeous.

  35. Yeah! I’ve wanted to do this since I first saw it. However, I was making myself wait until Christmas was done, which isn’t just yet. If I don’t win a copy, it will still be knit as soon as I can settle on a yarn. Merry Christmas.

  36. Love the cowl. Beautiful color!

  37. I love this pattern and need something to do with all the fingering yarn I have!

  38. Taj R. Wandling

    I think it’s pretty darn (wasn’t my first choice of descriptors, the other one was more explicit) cool that 38 (now 39) people came out of the woodwork to comment. I love looking at your blog, actually check it daily. I saw you at Rhinebeck in line for Jenny the Potter on Saturday morning. I was afraid to get out of line to comment on your sweater, hat, shawl, and socks. It was truly surreal to see the hand knits I’ve read about in person. I did have to wait 30 minutes to pay for my mug so even at the back of the line getting out of line seemed a mighty risk, but you looked fantastic. I really liked, though I may be wrong, your lipstick. If you didn’t have lipstick on, it must have been that hideous wind. Thanks for continuing to blog as I enjoy it so much.

  39. What could be more perfect, a versatile cowl in my favorite color, red! I love the length of it and having the ability to wrap it around my neck, or around my shoulders on a cool evening, or around my head on a windy day. I can see this being my “go-to” cowl no matter what the weather is outside. Your reunion cowl is a beautiful design.

  40. What a beautiful cowl and I love the fact it’s a one skein project.

  41. Thanks for doing a draw! I’m sure whoever wins will really enjoy both the yarn and the pattern! πŸ™‚

  42. It’s a beautiful cowl, both versions of it, and that colour suits you well! I don’t know if I could pull off that colour myself. And you look so comfy in that sweater too! Have a Merry Christmas and best wishes for 2011!

  43. This cowl looks perfect for my niece!

  44. That is truely beautiful. I would love to knit that as a gift for a special friend;

  45. What a beautiful cowl! Love all the ways you’re wearing it, so versatile.

  46. What a beautiful cowl! I’d love to knit it!

  47. Thanks for the giveaway. Happy holidays!!!

  48. Love! Now if only the newborn would let me knit….

  49. That’s a buckets of cool pattern & yarn pairing…any plans for future collaborations?

  50. This is beautiful and I have yarn ready and waiting!

  51. Jennifer Rider

    What a generous giveaway, maybe the stars will align. I’ve had the pleasure of being introduced to Kim’s yarns through one lovely Darby Bayly. I’ve had this cowl in my cue, so medium is definately on my radar. Merry Christmas to you both.

  52. Oh what a nice surprise this would be…Kim’s lovely yarn with an adorable pattern too!

  53. Very versatile and very nice!! A drawing is the perfect way to draw attention to this lovely accessory! β™₯

  54. It’s lovely! And so is your Tea Leaves:)

  55. Beautiful cowl, I can’t wait to knit it.

  56. The cowl is so cute! I love me a one skein project πŸ™‚

  57. Carrie Pallardy

    Very beautiful and I have been thinking about making a cowl for myself.

  58. Great pattern! Happy holidays

  59. Oh, how lovely!

  60. Canadian dyer and Canadian pattern designer – what a great combo.

  61. What a lovely cowl – just what I need to knit next, in lovely Kim yarn!

  62. What a lovely pattern, and that yarn too! A great match, I’m sure πŸ™‚

  63. Oh, very nice! I really like the smaller size. It looks so cozy!

  64. Susan aka paintermom

    I hope I win! I love cowls and I am mad for Kim’s yarns. Thanks for the giveaway.

  65. The cowl is very cute….I have put it in my wish list for patterns!

  66. I love your cowl! Very pretty pattern!

  67. Oh, wow, what a beautiful cowl! This is definitely going on my must knit soon list (as in, get it knit while it’s still cool enough to wear it!).

  68. Perfect cowl!

  69. what a great piece – and made with fabulous yarn!

  70. Both versions look great–love it!

  71. This is gorgeous! I have been wanting to knit a versatile cowl like this for ages, and this is so lovely! (Not to mention I love indigodragonfly yarns…)
    Thanks for the oh-so-generous giveaway!

  72. Dear Natalie – This is a lovely website – congratulations!!!
    Pete and I really enjoyed talking to you last night at Jack and Katie’s. I want to hire you to teach Maddy and Carrie how to knit. Pls call us some time and come over…. and check out those Golden Hands: http://recycledlifestyle.wordpress.com/category/golden-hands/
    Plus, I want to put you in touch with York University’s in-house writers who produce our magazine, and pitch them a story about what you are doing.
    Merry Christmas, Dawn

  73. This is beautiful. I would love to be entered for the contest
    Clare

  74. Lovely! And I adore Indigodragonfly yarns. Yay!

  75. Very pretty! Your tea leaves is lovely, too! Merry Christmas!

  76. Cynthia Adkins

    The reunion cowl is beautiful!

  77. Beautiful–I’m adding it to my favorites.

  78. Lovely cowl, would be a pleasure to knit! πŸ™‚

  79. Love the original & the new smaller version!! Thanks for cresting it!

  80. oh, how pretty! thanks for the chance!!

  81. Lovely!I love it’s versatility! Beautiful cowl! And happy holidays!

  82. So pretty! I also love the model’s sweater.

  83. What a cute pattern! I really like how versatile it is! Cute and what a great idea and great contest!

  84. Pretty cowl! I love the sweater you are wearing, too. I think I have that one queued. πŸ™‚

  85. Beautiful pattern – and I can imagine how wonderful it feels knit in MCN. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the wonderful giveaway!

  86. Thanks for having the giveaway! I hope you had a lovely holiday.

  87. Cute cowl and how nice of you to have a holiday giveaway!

  88. This is such a lovely pattern – and I love the slightly smaller size…. Seems like it can be a scarf, a cowl or a keep-your-head-dry-if-it-starts-raining hoodie! What’s not to like…

  89. What a beautiful, versatile cowl!

  90. Beautiful! And great for our toronto winters.

  91. Great pattern! Love the color of the yarn as well (and your tea leaves sweater just reminded me I’ve been wanting to move that up on my queue!) Thanks!

  92. So lovely- so simply elegant! I love the design! and I love the yarn!

  93. I love this pattern! Congrats on your new deal with Kim.

  94. GORGEOUS pattern, and I am already a big fan of Kim’s yarns… very nice combination!

  95. Wonderful Cowl and Kim’s yarns are beautiful also. This is going to be a “must knit” for me.

  96. I have been looking for a one-skein cowl pattern. Thanks for delivering it right to me.

  97. Lovely!!

  98. At your mom’s insistence, I’m posting to enter the contest. Hope you’re having a lovely holiday.

  99. Melodie Thomas

    Great pattern and of course it looks great in Kim’s yarn.

  100. Love the pattern–all 3 sizes look great.

  101. wow, wish I woulda seen this before christmas

  102. That’s a really pretty cowl :o)

  103. Yowzah! Count me in; that’s a beautiful cowl! Get in touch with me on Ravelry, as AnnBan.

  104. Veronica Cassetta

    Love the cowl! Very versitile! I can just imagine it in Kim’s colorways…too cool! Count me in on the contest.

  105. My cowl hatred is now officially slipping. this is lovely.

  106. What a lovely blog you have!!! I’d love to win the giveaway, but mostly I am just excited to find such a neat blog ;D

  107. You look so darned cute in those photos! What a lovely pattern – and the yarn is yummy. I can’t wait to knit this one.

  108. Jan Isaacs-Wade

    Thanks for the lovely cowl pattern! The giveaway comes at a perfect time after the holiday!

  109. thank you for adding a quicker-working medium size option! and, of course, for having a giveaway. this would be a great project to keep on the side while i continue to work on a gigantic blanket…

  110. Lovely pattern and beautiful yarn! Keep up the good work!!!!

  111. Gorgeous! And perfect in red.

  112. Donna Emberson

    Beautiful pattern and you are so fortunate ot be teaming up with Kim on this project! Since I have recently relocated to Delta BC, I know what colourway I will have Kim make for me…Vancouver Melt!! Or perhaps I’ll just let her surprise me this time! Wishing you and yours good health, happiness, and peace this New Year’s and throughout the year ahead.

  113. Happy New Year, Natalie and Kim!
    I hope I win the contest, because I would love to make this reunion cowl. The design is versatile, wearable and attractive. And, of course, I love Kim’s yarn.

  114. Gorgeous cowl!

  115. How exciting to discover that indigodragonfly is on Kennisis Lake Road! My family had a cottage on that wonderful lake for many, many years.

  116. Congrats my soon-to-be famous young friend! And so many visitors to your lovely blog!!! Probably not the best contest for me though.

  117. What a beautiful cowl! I am just so interested in them (and shawls) the past several months. I would love to win the pattern and yarn so I could cast on!

  118. It is so pretty and looks so nice in the red for Xmas? I can only imagine it in a luscious yarn by Kim!

  119. Very pretty!

  120. Love this!!

  121. Oh what a lovely cowl. Looks very pretty and useful too! πŸ™‚

  122. Great pattern to pair with a great yarn!

  123. It is lovely. Hope I am not too late to enter. Happy New Year!

  124. This is super cute, and will be so great in one of Kim’s yarns!

  125. I think it’s a lovely cowl!!

  126. I love cowls! That one looks very nice. Hope I’m not too late to enter the drawing!