Advent 7, 8, 9, 10

It’s a funny thing promising to do something on a regular basis, sometimes even the best laid plans get sidelined. This Advent project seems to be one of them. I had the best of intentions to take pictures and post this week but then one thing doubled up on the other and the next thing I knew it was Friday and I had nothing to show for it. I’ve felt quite frazzled these past few days, trying to get things ready for the holidays. As often happens these things all came to a head early this afternoon on my way home from making Stephanie’s email go away. While riding my bicycle I developed one of the worst migraines I have ever had. I was reduced to lying in bed crying while trying to fall asleep so that it would go away.

Some might say I brought it upon myself. It was one of those days where I was supposed to work four different jobs, going straight from one to the next without stopping. First Steph’s, then babysitting, then the store, then babysitting again. My mom ended up looking after the kids in the afternoon and I had to get my shift at the store covered. I’ve made it to babysitting, and I’m glad that most of it involved putting the kids to bed, and now I can sit and rest.

Advent Catch up with Clover

So here’s a catch up on Advent pockets. Clover the cat was good to sit still jsut long enough to take one picture before my camera battery died, and she decided to try and eat my yarn. The gift from these ones are to be restful, to not let the holiday season override the ability to take care of yourself first. The holidays can quickly snowball into stress that can take a toll on our bodies, minds and relationships, so don’t forget to sit back and relax every once in a while. You’ll be able to go back to whatever it is you are doing with more energy than before and everyone will thank-you for it.

Oh, and to holiday knitting. Because it wouldn’t be the holidays if there wasn’t also knitting on a deadline. Does the knitting count as a stress reliever or a stress creator this time of year….?

3 responses to “Advent 7, 8, 9, 10

  1. Ha, I thought she was eyeing the yarn in that photo!

  2. may i suggest sleeping in a comfortable chair? I have unique tension migraines and laying down is truly the. worst. position for me. i can actually induce vomiting by trying to lay down. Not intentionally, just being so tired I think I can get away with it. Hope you don’t get another during the holidays! (or ever, really – but we’ll start small)

  3. I’m sorry to hear about your migraine…Understand those all to well ;( But how exciting about your spinning wheel! Congratulations on that 😉

Leave a Reply

